...

Proudly Serving Ocean City, Maryland

Call or Text us today

410-430-1464

Proudly Serving Ocean City, Maryland

Call or Text us today

410-430-1464

Traffic Offenses

Ocean City Defense Lawyer For Traffic Tickets

Traffic offenses in Maryland are more than just a ticket — the state has a “point” system, where each offense has a predetermined amount of points. If you pay the ticket and or are found guilty during a hearing, those points will be attached to your license. After accumulating so many points over a period of time, your driving privileges can be affected. Here’s what you should know about traffic offenses and what to do when you’re ticketed.

License Offenses

Driving with a Suspended License: Driving on a suspended license is divided into two categories, each having to do with why the license was suspended in the first place.

  • H Charge: Suspensions for failure to pay a ticket or appear in court, etc. and $500 fine, 3 points against license, up to 60 days in jail.
  • C Charge: Suspensions for DUI related charges, nonpayment of child support, etc. and $1000 fine, up to 12 points against license, up to 1 year in jail.
Ocean-City-Traffic-Defense

Driving with a Revoked License: Driving with a revoked license carries the same penalties as a “C charge” of driving with a suspended license, however, fines and jail time can increase with subsequent offenses.

CALl RICHARD BRUECKNER

FOR A FREE CONSULTATION 410-430-1464

Driving Without a License

  • First Offense: Misdemeanor. $500 fine, up to 60 days in jail, 5 points against license.
  • Subsequent Offenses: Misdemeanor. $1000 fine, up to 1 year in jail, 5 points against license.

Traffic Offenses in Ocean City

  • Reckless Driving: In Maryland, reckless driving is defined as “driving a motor vehicle with blatant or shameless disregard for the safety and health of other people or property, or in a manner that indicates such outrageous disregard for the safety of others or property.”

Penalties include:

  • 6 points against license
  • Enrollment in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP)
  • Fine of up to $1,000
  • If a minor, the driver’s license can be suspended for up to 6 months for a first offense and up to 12 months for subsequent offenses
ocean-city-traffic-lawyer

Speeding Tickets: For speeding tickets, the fine and points against a driver’s license vary widely and generally depend on how fast over the speed limit the driver was going, location, and other factors.

Failure to Stop (Stop Sign or Red Light)

Failure to stop at a stop sign or a red light is a misdemeanor and can result in:

  • $90 in fines, unless associated with an accident, in which case the fines increase to $130
  • 2 points against license, unless associated with an accident, in which case the points increase to 3

Failure to Yield and Failure to Signal

Failure to yield when appropriate, such as at a yield sign or when someone else has the right of way is penalized by:

  • $90 in fines, unless associated with an accident, in which case the fines increase to $130
  • 2 points against license, unless associated with an accident, in which case the points increase to 3

Failure to signal carries the same penalties.

DUI Offenses on the Eastern Shore

Driving under the influence of alcohol is punished severely in Maryland.

First Offense

  • Up to a $1,000 fine
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • 12 points on driver’s license with revocation of up to 6 months

Second Offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to 2 years in jail with a 5-day mandatory minimum
  • 12 points on driver’s license with revocation of up to 1 year

Second Offense Within 5 Years

  • Second offense penalties listed above
  • Mandatory license suspension followed by mandatory participation in an Ignition Interlock Program (IIP)
drunk-driving -arrest-in-ocean-city

Other Offenses

Illegal U-turn & Improper Turn

Making an illegal U-turn, on a curve or otherwise, is penalized by:

  • $90 in fines, unless associated with an accident, in which case the fines increase to $130
  • 2 points against license, unless associated with an accident, in which case the points increase to 3

An improper turn carries the same penalties.

Driving Between the Lines & Failure to Wear a Seatbelt

Driving between the lines or failure to wear a seatbelt does not carry any point penalties in Maryland, although a driver can be cited with a $70 fine.

Driving Without Insurance

Driving without insurance is penalized harshly. Drivers could incur penalties like:

  • Uninsured motorist penalties of $150 minimum for the first 30 days of lapse and an additional $7 per day of lapse thereafter
  • Loss of vehicle registration and license plate privileges
  • Up to $25 restoration fee to have a vehicle’s registration restored
  • Prohibition from having any other vehicles registered until all matters are resolved
  • If false insurance information is provided, drivers could face a $1,000 fine and up to 1 year in jail
ocean-city-reckless-driving-lawyer

Faulty Equipment

Being ticketed for faulty equipment does not carry any point penalties in Maryland, although a driver can be cited with a $70 fine.

Hit and Run

A hit and run accident occurs when an individual causes an accident, either with a moving or parked vehicle and flees the scene without providing proper identification and insurance information. Penalties are:

  • $500 fine
  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • 8 points against license

The penalties become more severe if the accident caused bodily injury or death.

Bodily Injury: $5,000 fine and up to 5 years in prison

Death: Felony manslaughter charges, $10,000 fine and up to 10 years in prison

ocean-city-hit-and-run-lawyer

What Happens When You Accumulate Too Many Points

Points stay on a driver’s record for two years, after which they are expunged and the driver starts at zero again. The following actions are taken when drivers accumulate a certain number of points within the two-year period:

  • Between 3 and 4 points: A warning letter
  • Between 5 and 7 points: Requirement to enroll in DIP
  • Between 8 and 11 points: License suspension
  • 12 or more points: License revocation

Points can add up quickly, especially in cases where multiple traffic violations are cited. While many people simply pay a ticket to avoid the hassle of going to court, this may not necessarily be in your best interest. This is particularly true in cases where you are already close to the 12 point threshold for losing your license.

Contact a Traffic Offense Attorney Today

If you’ve been pulled over for a traffic offense, or have been charged with something more serious like a hit and run or DUI, don’t pay the ticket just yet — instead, get the help of an experienced traffic offense attorney. Richard J. Brueckner has worked with Maryland residents to help them avoid hefty fines and points against their license. Call today for a consultation at (410) 430-1464.

Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.